Chirp Chirp!

Students went all out for our “white out” game! A student covers another fan in body paint during the tailgate.

I miss home. I mean, as much as anyone else misses home. I miss Hammond’s ten million annoying trains and the dogs in my neighborhood barking at night. I miss being less than an hour from Chicago. I miss my parents. I miss my friends and I miss the Academy. I’m weighing what I have against what I’m leaving behind and I’ve decided it’s not so bad. I’ll see my family again. I’ll get to come back to the 219 in the summer and enjoy it.

I have every opportunity in the world here. I’ve started to volunteer for Ball States’ Newspaper The Daily News. I’m already shooting and doing what I love. I’m more confident in my choice to major in photojournalism than I was before I got here. BOOM! Classes? Easy breezy for now. Social life? Developing. Slowly but surely.

I’ve survived my first shoot for the paper, which was the tailgate before the first football game of the season. I even managed to enjoy myself at the game. Considering I rarely ever attended games in high school, that’s an achievement in itself. I’ve only been home once, surprisingly. My room is pretty cozy (in a good way) and the girls in my hall are really sweet. I’m happy. I’m finding myself making healthier choices and not being so lazy.

Students toss a football at the tailgate before the first game of the season.

I think the most important part of my experience is that I’m shooting more. I shoot for myself quite a bit more than I did at home. I’ve already mastered things I was slow with in high school. I’m taking photo challenges from an organization I’m apart of and the newspaper and putting my all into taking images that fit into the categories. I’ve brought my point and shoot to school to carry on me when I don’t have my Canon Rebel around. I’m learning to acknowledge that my iPhone has a decent camera and that it is a legitimate tool for taking photos. I’m going to start sketching to understand light more. I’m learning to tone my photos so they are appropriate for print and I’m getting way better at writing my captions.  I feel that in my first three weeks of school I’m leaps and bounds closer to being a successful photojournalist four years from now.

I’m hopeful. I’m driven and I know that I can do well here as long as I choose to seek opportunity. I need to find the time to keep up this blog! I’m confident that I can do it. I’m excited to write and post pictures about homecoming! I want to thank everyone who is going to be following my journey and supporting me along the way. I appreciate every single person who pushed me to shoot in high school and I’ll never forget the people who have taught me.

A student cheers on Ball States football team at the first game of the season August 30, 2012.

Students enjoy the tailgate before the first football game at Ball State.
Leave a Reply

