INPA 2012 Contest

An audience member is sprayed with paint at the Life in Color event held at Worthen Arena on Saturday.  Life in Color is a concert event that included two Dj's and paint canons that drenched the audience.

An audience member is sprayed with paint at the Life in Color event held at Worthen Arena on Saturday. Life in Color is a concert event that included two Dj’s and paint canons that drenched the audience.

I spent the weekend at the Indiana News Photographers Association annual contest. At the contest, talented photographers are invited to judge entries in multiple photo categories.  The INPA event takes place over two days near the beginning of each year. On Friday this year, the judges assigned winners in the college categories and gave presentations of their own work. Each presentation was inspiring and made me realize that there are many ways one can make a living in photography. You have to choose what you’re passionate about and find a way to make it work for you. On Saturday, they judged the regular entries. There were more than 2,000 images entered and it makes for a long but interesting day.

The judging itself is valuable to watch. You get to see what three established photographers consider good work and what they don’t. Some photos are thrown out immediately, while others are discussed and scrutinized in order to pick a winner for each category. It’s really wonderful to see what the judges are discussing, and to gain an understanding for what makes the photo good or bad. I learned a lot about the way I should edit my own images and I’ve gained a better understanding for what makes a solid photo.

I was really nervous about entering photos. Presenting your work to someone for the sole purpose of judging it is terrifying. I’m really happy that I did though. I learned so much while I was there. I’m going to push myself to enter more contests, while continuing to improve my work every day.

I’m happy to announce that the image at the top of this post took second place in the features category of the college contest. I’m really happy with the photo, and I’m glad to know that others believe it is good as well. I’m really excited for next years INPA contest!

Leave a Reply

