Lovely Doves

Two doves sit on a branch in Hammond, Ind., March 10, 2013. A rainbow was visible just before sunset.

Two doves sit on a branch in Hammond, Ind., March 10, 2013. A rainbow was visible just before sunset.

Since I started working at the Ball State Daily News, I really haven’t been shooting anything outside of my assignments. I know the importance  of working on personal projects but it can be very difficult sometimes. Over my spring break it was nice to shoot for my own enjoyment.

On the last day of break, my parents and I decided to go see Oz The Great and Powerful.  When we got home we saw a rainbow in front of my house and I rushed inside to grab my camera. We could see where it touched ground on both ends, and it was a double rainbow for a bit.  I knew I wouldn’t be able to shoot it end to end because of the lens I was using, but I decided to go out and take some photos anyway. It was nice to be able to shoot without deadlines or the stress of gathering caption information.

As I was searching for a unique element for the photo, I noticed two doves sitting in a tree. I was able to position the rainbow behind one of them for the shot at the top of this post.  They didn’t seem to be startled by me at all and I’m really glad they didn’t fly away.

Leave a Reply

