Art and News

An old train trestle at McCulloch Park in Muncie, IN is out of use.

An old train trestle at McCulloch Park in Muncie, IN.

So, today I had to shoot an assignment for a non-journalism photography class, and an assignment for the Daily News.  I learned two things: I don’t know what it means to turn in a photo without also turning in a caption and I’m very, very wired to take photos that are “useful” to the Ball State Daily News.

It’s completely okay to look out for your organization, but this line of thought led to my decline in shooting for my own enjoyment last semester. For awhile, it hindered me from shooting for fun, which happens to be the whole reason I got into photography in the first place.

This morning, I decided to have some fun. I got up at 6:30 a.m. to head out to McCulloch Park to shoot some photos I need for a photography assignment. I was hoping for the nice light and sky that comes with a party cloudy sunrise, as well as fog from the warm temperatures. Mother nature did not allow me these luxuries this morning. Though the sunset certainly delivered was I was looking for today, I was at work and missed it. I had dragged myself and my friend Lauren out at a ridiculous time for no reason. Oops.

After I took a nap, Lauren and I headed out again to interview and shoot photos of a Ball State student who runs a micro brewery out of his home. Back in photojournalism mode, I wrote down some of the process and was able to document the first part of a chilli-honey porter (a dark style of beer) the student was working on.  Journalism takes me some interesting places! That’s for sure.

Ice encases a twig in the White River at McCulloch Park in Muncie, Indiana.

Ice encases a twig in the White River at McCulloch Park in Muncie, Indiana

This adorable little raccoon hand print made me really happy. That's all I can say.

This adorable little raccoon hand print made me really happy. That’s all I can say.

Kyle Little, left, and senior journalism graphics major Tyler Varnau work together to add 5.5 gallons of distilled water to a pot to boil before adding grain.

Kyle Little, left, and senior journalism graphics major Tyler Varnau work together to add 5.5 gallons of distilled water to a pot to boil before adding grain.

Tyler Varnau uses a large pot outdoors to boil water to roughly 163 degrees, which is then mixed with roughly 14 pounds of grain.

Tyler Varnau uses a large pot outdoors to boil water to roughly 163 degrees, which is then mixed with roughly 14 pounds of grain.

The ingredients used to create a honey chili porter at Tyler Varnau's home brewery costs roughly $45.

The ingredients used to create a honey chili porter at Tyler Varnau’s home brewery costs roughly $45.

Leave a Reply

