Colorful and Fun

This was my favorite photo from the bunch. I like that the droplets are a little offset, and there's more black in the image.

This was my favorite photo from the bunch. I like that the droplets are a little offset, and there’s more black in the image.

Glass, candy, and light is all it took to complete this fun image. Well, that and quite a bit of trouble shooting. I started with not enough candy, water droplets that were too large, and a glass bowl that was warping the image. I used a range of tools to make the water droplets before I found the right fit.

In this instagram post  from Jordan Kartholl, a Star Press photographer, he uses a clock instead of candy. It’s a pretty cool image, and was my most recent inspiration for shooting a similar photo.

It’s a fun little photo and project. Here’s some of the places I ended up before the final look.

Here is my first image. With glass to close to the candy, too big water drops, and the wrong glass, I was pretty far from the image I wanted.

Here is my first image. With glass to close to the candy, too big water drops, and the wrong glass, I was pretty far from the image I wanted.

 

In an attempt for smaller water drops, I resorted to a spray bottle. This didn't work, and I have no coffee stirrers on hand, unfortunately.

In an attempt for smaller water drops, I resorted to a spray bottle. This didn’t work, and I have no coffee stirrers on hand, unfortunately.

 

This was one of my last images, and is my second favorite. I used a modify straw for water drops, and finally got the other factors right.

This was one of my last images, and is my second favorite. I used a modify straw for water drops, and finally got the other factors right.

One comment

Leave a Reply

