Self Portrait Challege

fbphotoI’m currently working on a series of photo challenges with Jonathan, a photographer I work with at the Ball State Daily News. The first project was a self portrait. We agreed to one light only. Anything else was game. 

My goals were really simple: get experience using my soft box, play with light, and do a little portrait research. I’d be happy just accomplishing that. 
 
At some point, I will be doing more challenging, conceptual self portraits, but this challenge wasn’t the time to do it. 

With a little soft box and a speedlite, I started with a sort of Rembrandt-esque technique. The light was angled and relatively close to me, which would create a drop off of light on my face. I thought this would create an interesting shadow I could play with.  

I’m happy with the photo. It’s not any sort of studio masterpiece, but it’s a fun Facebook profile photo, and it  helped me dive a little deeper into portrait photography. I reached my goals, set a small platform for me to jump from, and got myself excited for other portraits. Good thing that was exactly the point. 

Self portraits aren’t particularly easy logistically, so I might need a model to help me out next time.  

I’ll be discussing our next challenge in a couple of weeks. So check back. 

In the meantime, I intend to do a small symmetry project this week. 

You can check out Jonathan and his super cool, artsy entry here.

 

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

